The Shipwreck of Zakynthos was named after the ship Panagiotis which was washed out on the particular beach on the northern side of the island. The most commonly accepted story regarding the wreck of Panagiotis maintains that it spent the later part of its life as a smuggling ship. In 1980, Panagiotis was making its way from Turkey with a freight of contraband cigarettes. The crew was suspected by authorities, and so the ship was pursued by the Greek Navy. Encountering stormy weather, it ran aground in a shallow cove, where the crew abandoned it. The Shipwreck beach is one of the most photographed places in the world and a pole of attraction for hundreds of thousands of tourists every year. It is accessible only by the sea, while the view from above is unique. Excursions to the Shipwreck are carried out from almost all the ports of the island during the summer.
Just 2 km away from the city center, in the panoramic area of Bohalis, on the "balcony" of Zakynthos, the Venetian castle is located. The historical significance of the Castle is great, since in the years of Venetian domination inside it there was the capital of the island. Its walls are made of carved stone and their shape resembles the walls of Cretan castles. In 1480 a great part was destroyed by the Turks and its restoration was not allowed. From then until 1514 the inhabitants of the island made many attempts to restore it after every raid or earthquake. The main restoration took place in 1515 with the reinforcement of Venice. It was then that the cannons and the Great Gate, the bell of which served as a clock of the city, were added. The influence of the Venetians is present on the third entrance gate, the walls of which bear the "Saint Mark's Leo" which is a symbol of Venice.
Typical geological formations at the northern tip of Zakynthos have formed the famous blue caves, one of the most prominent sights of the island. They are only visited by boat and are a pole of attraction for thousands of tourists every year. Small boats can go inside the caves where their passengers are enchanted by the beauty.
Marathonisi It is a small uninhabited island that is the spawning place of the sea turtle Caretta – Caretta, located in the bay of Laganas, very close to the beach of Keri Lake. It is part of the National Marine Park of Zakynthos. Its large sandy beach and impressive rocks with its crystal blue waters offer the visitor an exotic landscape.
Porto Limnionas is an area with little creeks that "dive" in the crystal blue waters of the west and steep side of the island, a virgin landscape that will delight all visitors near the village of Agios Leon. The combination of mountain and sea is really impressive.
ST. DENIS CHURCH
The church of the patron saint of the island Agios Dionysios (St. Denis) is a magnificent temple in which important works of art are kept, as well as the "Holy Relics" of Agios Dionysios, while it is full of unique icons (hagiographies). It is located in Zakynthos town.
ST. NICHOLAS CHURCH
The church of St. Nicholas (Agios Nicholaos) of Molos in Zakynthos town, is a Venetian-style building, the only one which survived from the devastating earthquake and fire of 1953. It was built in 1561 by sailors. Inside the church, the pontifical vestments of Saint Dionisios are kept, as a tribute to the relation of the Saint with this church.
ST. GEORGE MONASTERY
At the end of a cape, with a breathtaking view, there is the Monastery of St. George (Agios Georgios) of Gremnon. In the center of it, there is a Tower with loopholes in which the monks gathered to protect themselves from the raids of the pirates. In 1553 the pirates destroyed it, but it was later built again in the Venetian rhythm.